_______
2003-02-15/6:15 a.m.
Clusterfucks and conversations

Happy Valentine's Day!

Okay, that's all I'll say about that.

Work was a real ballbuster today. Everyone's coming in to stock up for the upcoming snowstorm. On top of that, not enough people were scheduled in today. The result, I got to run around the parking lot a couple of times today gathering carts. It was kind of funny, though. Here I am, pushing 8-10 carts at a time down an incline in a busy parking lot frought with auto and pedestrian traffic, and I begin to think, "You know, all these people probably think I was given some sort of training for this. They actually think I can make these carts stop at will should something get in my way, or at least be able to turn them quickly enough to avoid sudden obstacles." Ha! Truth was, I had no idea what I was doing, absolutely no control over them once they got going down the hill, and had a car suddenly rounded a corner at the wrong time...well, my store would have been treating them to a new front bumper and a headlight or two. Luckily, no cars or people got into my way. I still managed to have quite a few near misses with some parked cars.

Tomorrow morning is going to be hell. The entire freezer's jame packed with carts and pallets, so in the morning when the 4 or 5 new pallets cme in, I have no idea what to do with them. For all I care, they can all thaw and be thrown away.

Still no new schedule, thus still no word on whether I actually have to work tomorrow night. If I do, I plan to either get out of it through some creative lying, or if I don't, I'll at least make them feel like assholes for not telling me about it earlier. God I hope I don't have to, though, considering tomorrow morning's going to be a complete clusterfuck on its own, and surely tomorrow night will be even harder because of it. Signs aren't made, tags aren't done, the sale items probably won't be sorted. Bah.

Anyway, enough griping, here's some fun quotes from my day.

Looking at a picture in USA Today of a man in Connecticut wrapping his ENTIRE HOUSE in plastic to ward off evil bioterrorism germs.

Hockey Temper: "Man, who'd wanna live THAT MUCH, that they'd wrap their whole fucking house in plastic?"

---

Girl's Grandma (GG) and Girl (G) on the phone.

GG: Well, what type of wine is it? Is it grape wine?

G: Grape wine?

GG: Yeah, is it made out of grapes?

G: Well, what else would it be made out of besides grapes?

GG: Well, it might be that white stuff, that's not made out of grapes, is it?

---

I got a new state ID today after work, and I think the guy that was working behind the counter (quite flaming), was hitting on me. Heh. While it was printing out, he said (and I'll try to include the in the emphsases as best I can), "You can have a seat WHERE EVER. You'd. LIKE." It just seemed like he was implying his face would be a perfectly viable option.

But maybe that's just me being a legend in my own mind again.

Wooderson

previous - next

new - old - profile - notes - surveys - fans - rings - wishlist - cast - reviews - IM me - mail - host - design
Site Meter