_______
2003-01-15/4:27 a.m.
I pulled my ass today!

Yet again, I was 2 hours late for work. But, still Napolean didn't even mention it. I don't even call them when I wake up and realize I'm so late. It breaks the unspoken "Don't ask, don't tell about you lateness" policy that seems to have formed between us for some reason.

The company sent a team in today to do a complete reset of the frozen aisle, so I spent most of the day in the non-foods aisles, putting up medicine. No one in that dept. likes putting up medicine, but that's my favorite thing in the whole store to do. Go figger. So no one complains when I hog the aisle.

Damn, I'm boring.

Oh, Napolean DID end up buring me today. He sent a guy that mostly works the lot (bringing in buggies, etc.) to get some rocksalt out of the back. He came into the back while I was back there and asked me if I knew where it was. Neither of us could find it, because we were looking for the small bags we sell to customers. After the lot guy gave up and left, Napolean comes walking through and says no, he meant the stuff that comes in the industrial size box. So, I end up finding it buried in some corner, and Napolean says yep, that's it, and leaves. I try to pick up one of the boxes, and I can't even budge the thing at first. I figure it's just because it's crammed in the corner at an odd angle, and if I work my way back into the corner more, I can get a better hold of it. So, I worm in between the stacks of cleaners and paper towels and whatnot, and finally I get myself into position. I try again to pick it up and find out, no, that fucking box is just REALLY fucking heavy! But, I manage to get it up off the stack, stagger two or three paces with it, and half-throw it into a buggy that's close by. It was at that point I realized that somewhere along the line, I'd pulled some muscle in my left leg that travel from my upper thigh, all the way up my ass. Goddammit, I'd pulled my fucking ass! I couldn't believe it! Eventually it worked itself out, thankfully, so now I won't have to go fill out an incident report saying, "I pulled my ass lifting a box." Now, the only place bothering me since I lifted it is my left wrist, but it's just a little stiff.

Anyway, I took the buggy with the rocksalt in it up front and found the guy that was looking for it (about 6'3", 200+ lbs) and he tried to lift it out of the buggy and couldn't budge the thing. He stepped back, read the side of the box, and said, "Shit, no wonder! This fucking box weighs a hundred pounds!" Needless to say I was impressed with myself. I'd managed to move 2/3 my own body weight (even if I did pull my ass in the process). Not too bad for an out-of-shape smoker that hasn't REALLY worked out in...well...forever.

Cassanova brought me home today, but stood back in the back bitching to a coworker about the state of his relationship with the manager for almost an hour after he was supposed to have left. I just stood back in the back twiddling my thumbs for the first half hour, then Turk got off work, and ended up hanging out with me until Cassanova got his ass in gear. We looked at a couple Maxim-wannabe magazines that happened to be on the reciever's desk. I got to ogle some nice Anna Kournakova pics while she complained how ugly Kournakova is. Heh. Yeah, right. Once Cassanova was ready to go, we all walked out of there like the Reservoir Dogs, Cassanova hitting on her the whole way. Poor, desperate fucker.

I also discovered something today that pleases me for some odd reason. It's the way people that speak English as a second language use the word "land." Turk looked outside at all the snow and proclaimed, "I am so mad at this land! It's always snowing." There's just something that pleases me about about that that I can't explain. Something about that half-acceptable, half-archaic word usage tickles my geeky English major sensibilities. Maybe I'm just too easily amused.

On the way home, Cassanova was talking about how he wants to go to college and play football. He's 23, hasn't played since he was a freshman in high school, but thinks he has a shot for playing at OSU. Like I said before, he's utterly faithful he can do anything, even when there's no cahnce in hell it's actually going to happen.

Turk finally loaned me her DVD of "The Royal Tennenbaums." I've watched half so far. Good movie, but the DVD keeps skipping. I should've just rented it.

All right, this entry is spiraling hopelessly into the land of utterly boring and useless information. I'm so made at that land! Enough already!

Wooderson

previous - next

new - old - profile - notes - surveys - fans - rings - wishlist - cast - reviews - IM me - mail - host - design
Site Meter