_______
2002-12-30/11:38 p.m.
Today, I was an alpha male...

So at work today carts are hard to come by. Not a goddam one that's empty in the whole back room when the truck came in. In order to break down the truck and get it out onto the floor, carts are pretty essential. So I spend about a half hour tracking some down in various, out-of-the-way places. And that's all we had all day.

Anyway, four isn't enough to break the whole truck down on, just about half. So we do the first half and come back for the second around noon. So I'm bringing a pallet out of the freezer, and we got the only two empty carts in the store sitting there waiting to be filled. Some vendor comes up and tries to take one. I say to hey, "Hey, wait a minute, we're using that." He looked disappointed, but didn't put up a struggle. So I get done dealing with him, continue trying to squeeze the pallet out of the freezer and along comes this other knucklehead vendor, and he tries to walk off with the OTHER fucking cart! So I'm like, "Hey! Hey! hey! Wait a minute! Jesus, you're the second person today that's tried to steal our cart!" The guy actually whines at me, "Well, I need one, too!" So I reply, "Well, that's a sad fucking story, but I had to fight tooth and nail to get those carts and I'm not giving them up!" So he reluctantly brings it back. I turn around and Hockey Temper's half hiding behind the open freezer door laughing his ass off. I think that's the first time he's seen me defend my terretory to such an extent.

So you see? That grocery industry's a pretty cut-throat business. Dog eat dog, kill or be killed, and you always have to stay one step ahead of those fucking vendors.

Wooderson

previous - next

new - old - profile - notes - surveys - fans - rings - wishlist - cast - reviews - IM me - mail - host - design
Site Meter