_______
2002-12-03/1:06 a.m.
They want a girl with a short skirt and a long jacket, and I'm not her.

Something else happened yesterday that was pretty stupid. They offered JB the position of POS manager, and he said he didn't want it because he'd have to work Saturday nights. Fair enuogh. So they told him he could have the position and still didn't have to do Saturday nights...WTF??? The MAIN JOB of a POS manager is being there to hang signs and tags on Saturday night. The rest of the week, they just kind of sit around and wait for someone to tell them to make a sign or something, then seperate out the tags that come in on Friday. Hell, even I'D be manager if that's all the job entailed. Shit, I may as well be that already. When the POS manager is gone, I'm the one they call to do signs and shit anyway.

But I'm certainly not that upset about the whole situation. For one thing, I know he's not going to get any sort of raise, out of the deal, since by not working Saturdays, he'll be shirking 90% of his job responsibilities. It's hard enough to get your manager's raise there even if you do a good job. That stores really bad about saying, "We'll go ahead and give you the title, and when you prove that you can do the job, you'll get the raise." So, whenever you ask for it later, they always have an example ready of a time you fucked something up, and use that as an excuse not to give the raise. I don't think I've heard of a dept. manager yet that actually GOT their full raise. And the "full raise" is only supposed to be $.50 an hour, anyway. That's one of the main reasons I'm so oppsed to taking a management position there. It's not like it benefits you in anyway, except you get a shiny new job title that might look better on a resume. But it won't look THAT much better because manager or not, it's still fucking retail. Basically, at that store, you can put your job title in one hand, shit in the other, and see which gets filled first.

Another thing is, I'll bet anything they still make him work dairy everyday and just call him whenever they need some POS duties done, which is basically what they do to me now. Which can get annoying after awhile, believe me.

My main concern is that, since JB won't work Saturday nights, they'll ask me to do it. At which point I'll have to tell them, "Fuck you, get the new POS manager to do it. That IS his job, after all."

So, all in all, there's still some fun to be had by all. No one left in that store wants to work Saturday nights, and they don't seem to be trying that hard to find anyone that DOES want to work that night. And I'll be damned if I'm the one that's going to step in and take up the slack, even if that's what they expect to happen. If they're so concerned about keeping everyone else that doesn't want to work Saturday nights happy, they can damn well keep me happy, too...whether it makes all of us miserable or not. Hehe.

Okay, I'm sure you're tired of me raving at length about Saturday nights almost every single fucking entry, so I'll try to cool out on that. Now that all my thoughts are duly noted on that issue, hopefully this'll be the last time I have to mention it.

Not much else to talk about now. Maybe more tonight.

Wooderson

previous - next

new - old - profile - notes - surveys - fans - rings - wishlist - cast - reviews - IM me - mail - host - design
Site Meter