_______
2003-01-05/1:34 p.m.
Smokes

I just thought of something that pisses me off. Those nonsensical anti-smoking commercials. Espeically the STAND ones. You know what those commercials accomlish with me. If I'm not smoking when they come on, I am when they go off because they remind me I'm not smoking.

Out of all of them, though, I think the ones made by the tobacco companies are better than the STAND ones, even though the tobacco company ones have been derided by critics. There's this one line where a kid said when he was offered a cigarette he said no and, "It wasn't even the diggest decision I ever made, you know?" Exactly! What makes teens start smoking is because they THINK it's a big decision, and if they turn it down their friends will all laugh at them. Reassuring people that it's just not that big a deal to anyone if you say no is much more effective, in my eyes, than scare tactics.

That's the problem with the stand commercials. The unload body bags in front of tobacco companies. They have hundreds of planes fly over a beach showing what all is in cigarettes. They run about hotels, hanging anti-smoking paraphenalia on all the doors. You know what that makes it seem like? A big fucking deal! They want you to know that to smoke or not to smoke IS the biggest decision you'll ever make. Ever. Otherwise, why go through all that rouble? Play it cool, STAND folks. More people might listen to you.

Oh, and then there's that utterly inane ad some mouth-breath thought up to show a timelaped cigarette decaying in a gutter, then some one says, "No do you really want to stick that thing in your mouth?" Hey, how about we throw a banana in the gutter and film it for a week or so? Would you want to stick THAT in your mouth? C'mon people, if you're going to do ads, at least don't make them as easy to shoot down as this one was.

Wooderson

previous - next

new - old - profile - notes - surveys - fans - rings - wishlist - cast - reviews - IM me - mail - host - design
Site Meter